Stock Options

A form of derivative, options are contracts between two parties that give the holder the right, but not the obligation, to buy or sell a stock or asset at an agreed-upon price within a certain period of time. Investors can make use of options to profit from a market view or grow and hedge their portfolios over time. Currently, options trading are available in the Hong Kong and US markets and can be conducted on UTRADE Stock Options*.

*Hong Kong Stock Options Only

Benefits of Trading Stock Options

Purchasing a popular or top trading stock outright can be a costly and risky investment. Options can be bought at a fraction of the cost of the actual stock. This way, investors require a much lower financial commitment to acquire a position, which can result in significant cost savings and higher-percentage returns.

Options have proven to be liquid and efficient. This allows more markets to be traded at any given time, creating more investment opportunities. More cost-efficient than purchasing a stock outright, investors can also capitalise on fast-changing price movements, whether they are up or down, to take advantage of market situations as they evolve.

A multi-faceted and lucrative asset vehicle that can make a difference to any portfolio, options can be traded to build positions and hedge against risks. This can help investors manage short to long term goals, regulate risks, and calibrate investment strategies to plan for retirement or grow investments.

Trade Now with UTRADE Stock Options

Trade stock options by downloading the UTRADE Stock Options web program. Get equipped with the latest technology and resources for the elasticity to trade anytime anywhere so you never miss an opportunity again.

We put up-to-the-second data at your fingertips to help you make informed decisions in the fast-moving options market. Our powerful platform also ensures that orders are carried out swiftly so you can be assured that your trades are followed through.

Investors need all the help they can get to beat the market. We provide free real-time quotations and detailed market information to help you do just that. With our competitive pricing, we ensure you always get the best value.

Our highly advanced market orders enable you to trade more efficiently. With orders for every kind of opportunity, you can carry out your trading strategy by choosing from a broad range of order types including Fill and Kill, Good till Cancel and Good till Date, etc.

Product Information Statement

An option is a contract giving you the right to buy or sell an underlying asset at an agreed price before or when the contract expires. Underlying asset refers to the asset to be bought or sold if the option is exercised. It can be a stock, a commodity (e.g. gold), a bond, a currency or an index (e.g. Hang Seng Index).

Exercise Price / Strike Price

The pre-determined price at which the underlying asset can be bought or sold.

Expiry Date

The last day on which a buyer of an option contract can exercise the right to buy or sell the underlying asset.

Exercise Style

It refers to when an option can be exercised. There are two exercise styles: American and European. The American-style option can be exercised during any trading day on or before the expiry date. The European-style option can only be exercised on the expiry date.

Contract Size

The amount of the underlying asset that an option contract represents. For example if the underlying asset of an option contract is a certain stock, the contract size will be the number of shares (e.g. 1,000 shares).

Settlement Method

It refers to how the buy/sell of the underlying asset will be settled when the option is exercised. There are two ways of settlement - either by physical delivery of the underlying asset or in cash.

It is available for Professional Investor or Non- Professional Investor.

Basis Risk

The prices of futures contracts/options may not always go in line with/be perfectly correlated to the value of the underlying assets in the spot markets. For example, an increase in the spot price of the underlying asset may not cause the NAV of the futures and options fund to rise by the same magnitude. In fact, the NAV of the futures and options fund may not change at all or may even fall.

Volatility Risk

With substantial investment in futures contracts and options, the funds' prices may be subject to the risk of very volatile price movements of futures contracts and options. Futures contracts/options price movements may be caused by other factors such as changes in government policies, supply and demand, changes in interest rates and economic conditions. Futures contracts'/options' prices are highly volatile, and so are prices of the futures and options funds. Furthermore, many futures and options funds may invest in futures contracts/options with underlying asset classes such as commodities and foreign currencies which are generally more volatile. Besides, some futures exchanges may impose limits on daily futures price movement. In this case, even if a futures and options fund tries to close out its futures position to limit loss, the orders may not be executed due to such limits.

Margin Risk & Liquidity Risk

If the market moves against the futures position, the futures and options funds may be required to pay additional margins, to maintain the trading positions on short notice. The fund may need to liquidate its assets at unfavorable prices in order to meet these margin calls and suffer substantial losses. Some futures and options funds can only be redeemed at limited intervals (e.g. monthly). If you invest in such a fund, you may not be able to cash in on your investment at your desired price or when you are in need of cash.

Leverage Risk

Trading of futures contracts and options may carry a high degree of risk. The amount of initial margin/premium for entering into futures contracts/options is small relative to the value of futures contracts/options so that transactions are leveraged. In this way, a small change in contracts prices may result in magnified profit or loss, depending on the extent of leverage employed by the funds. A futures and options fund may or may not be leveraged. Although a futures and options fund may not invest all of its assets in futures contracts/options, where a futures and options fund is leveraged, the fund may lose all of its assets in its entirety due to the leverage effect of futures contracts/options. You should pay attention to the leverage level of a futures and options fund in which you invest, as well as the attendant risks.

Model Risk

The performance of futures and options fund depends mainly on success of its investment strategy, which is generally model-based. However, the use of model does not guarantee positive performance and any unexpected changes in market could hurt the model's performance. Moreover, it is not guaranteed that the model can be fully executed in an accurate and timely fashion.

Performance Fee Risk

The manager of a futures and options fund may charge a performance fee, which is payable to the manager annually if a pre-determined net appreciation of the fund's NAV is achieved. As the performance fee usually accrues on a daily basis and if payable, is deducted from the fund's net assets value on a daily basis, this gives rise to the risk that an investor redeeming his/her units may still need to bear a performance fee in respect of those units, even though a loss in the investment capital has been suffered by such redeeming investor.

Counterparty Risk

When a futures and options fund invests in options or other derivative instruments that are traded over-the-counter, the fund will be subject to the risk of default of its counterparties in performing any of their obligations. It may result in losses to the fund.

Option buyer's risk is only limited to the premium paid, the option seller's loss can be far greater than the premium received.

The potential gain when buying an option is unlimited, but the option buyer's risk is only limited to the premium paid.

An option seller's profit is limited to the premium received. Given the option seller must meet the buyer's decision on exercise, the option seller's loss can be far greater than the premium received.

This product is not principal protected.

Options contracts may be traded between parties in markets operated by an exchange (exchange-traded).

The product is a complex product and investors should exercise caution in relation to the product.

In the worst case scenario (e.g. insolvency of issuer), the investor may get nothing back and the potential maximum loss could be 100% of investment amount.

If the offering documents provided by the issuer have not been reviewed by the SFC; investors are advised to exercise caution in relation to the offer.

SFC authorization does not imply official recommendation or endorsement of a product nor does it guarantee the commercial merits of a product or its performance.

The product is available for professional investors / non- professional investors.

The above information is provided for reference only. The information may not contain all material terms, in and of itself should not form the basis for any investment decision. Potential investors must seek their own independent advice in relation to any legal, tax, accounting or regulatory issues relating to the matters discussed herein, By accepting receipt of this information the reader will be deemed to represent that they posses, either individually or through their advisor, sufficient investment expertise to understand the risks involved in any purchase or sale of any investment products, referenced herein, and investor has made its own independent judgment. The value, price or income from investments may fall as well as rise.

A web-based platform that supports Mac and PC

Tap into global markets with nothing more than a computer and an Internet connection

股票期權

期權是衍生工具之一,代表買賣雙方的合​​約,訂明持有人有權(但沒有責任)在指定期間內按協定的價格買入或賣出股票或資產。投資者可根據其對市場的看法,利用期權獲取利潤,或為投資組合增值及對沖。現在,本公司客戶可在香港及美國市場進行期權交易,亦可利用 UTRADE Stock Options* 進行交易。

* 只適用於香港股票期權

股票期權交易的優點

直接買入一隻熱門或活躍的股票可能涉及高成本及高風險。買入期權的成本只相當於實際股票的部分成本。因此,投資者只需付出相對極低的財務承擔,便可獲得股票持倉,從而節省大量成本,回報百分比也較高。

期權具有流動性高及有效率的特性。投資者可隨時在更多的市場進行交易,捕捉更多投資機會。與直接買入股票相比,買入期權具有較高的成本效益。憑藉價格急速轉變的特點,無論股價漲跌,投資者均可在市場變化中尋找獲利機會。

期權是一種多元化及具盈利能力的資產工具,對任何投資組合均有影響力,並可用來建立持倉及對沖風險。期權有助投資者管理短期至長期的財務目標,控制風險,以及用以調整投資策略,滿足退休規劃或投資增值的需要。

立刻以UTRADE Stock Options進行交易

本行客戶可下載UTRADE Stock Options ,進行股票期權交易。此系統使用最先進的投資科技,讓您隨時隨地靈活交易,不會錯失任何投資機會。

我們提供即時資訊,方便您在瞬息萬變的期權市場中,迅速作出有效的交易決定。本行最頂尖的交易平台確保買賣指令得以即時執行,讓您安心進行交易。

若要戰勝市場,投資者應要獲得一切所需支援。我們提供免費報價、深入的技術圖表分析及詳細的市場資訊,增加投資勝算。本行收費合理,確保投資者享有最佳利益。

系統設有多種先進的交易指令,提升交易效率。您可因應各種投資機會採取合適的交易策略,善用各項交易指令,包括全部成交及取消盤(Fill and Kill)、全部成交或取消盤 (Fill or Kill)及到期前有效盤(Good till Date)等。

產品資訊

期權是一種合約,讓你可以在合約到期日或之前,決定是否以指定的價格購買或出售相關資產。相關資產是指當行使期權時所購買或出售的資產,可以是股票、商品(例如黃金)、債券、貨幣或指數(例如恒生指數)。

行使價

是指購買或出售相關資產的預先協定價格。

到期日

是指買方可以行使購買或出售相關資產權利的最後日期。

行使方式

是指期權可以在何時行使。期權有兩種行使方式,包括美式和歐式。美式期權可以在到期日或之前的任何一個交易日行使,歐式期權則只能在到期日行使。

合約數量

是指每份期權合約所代表的相關資產數量。例如,若期權合約的相關資產是股票,合約數量便是指股票的數量(例如1,000股)。

交收方法

是指期權行使時,怎樣交收所購買或出售的相關資產。交收的方式有兩種,分別是把相關資產作現貨交收或現金交收。

該產品適用於專業投資者 / 非專業投資者客戶。

基本風險

期貨合約或期權的價格變動未必與現貨市場相關資產的價值變動一致或完全相符,例如相關資產的現貨價格上升,未必令期貨及期權基金的資產淨值以相同幅度上升。事實上,期貨及期權基金的資產淨值可能維持不變,甚至可能下跌。

大幅波動的風險

由於期貨及期權基金大筆投資於期貨合約及期權,基金價格或會受制於相當波動的期貨合約及期權價格。期貨合約或期權的價格波動或會由其他因素所帶動,例如政府政策、供求、利率變動及當前經濟環境。期貨合約或期權的價格相 當波動,因此期貨及期權基金的價格也非常波動。此外,很多期貨及期權基金的投資對象,或會是以價格一般較為波動的資產類別(如商品及外幣等)為相關資產的期貨合約或期權。

此外,部分期貨交易所可能就期貨價格的每日變幅設有限制。在此情況下,即使期貨及期權基金嘗試平倉止蝕,但有關限制也可能令指示無法執行。

保證金風險和流通性風險

假如市場走勢對期貨持倉不利,期貨及期權基金或須為維持手上的持倉,在短時間內支付額外按金。期貨及期權基金或須為支付所需按金,以不利的價格變現資產,因而招致巨額虧損。

有些期貨及期權基金只能在指定時間內贖回(如每月)。若投資於這類基金,你未必能按期望的價格或在需要資金周轉時,將投資變現。

槓桿借貸風險

買賣期貨合約及期權可涉及相當高的風險。相對於期貨合約或期權本身的價值,訂立期貨合約或期權所需的基本按金或期權金的金額較少,因此有 關期貨合約或期權的交易本身屬槓桿式交易。就此而言,合約價格若有輕微變動,也會引致盈利或虧損倍大,倍大程度視乎有關基金所使用的槓桿程度。期貨及期權基金未必一定設有槓桿。雖然期貨及期權基金未必會將所有資產投資於已設立槓桿的期貨合約或期權,但期貨合約或期權的槓桿作用仍可能使有關基金損失所有資產。因此投資者應留意所投資期貨及期權基金的槓桿水平及相關的風險。

投資模型風險

期貨及期權基金的表現主要取決於投資策略的成敗,而有關策略一般以基金所採用的投資模型作為基礎。然而,運用投資模型並不保證基金會有良好業績,而市況突變亦可能會損害投資模型的表現。此外,有關基金亦不能保證可準確且及時地全面執行所訂立的投資策略。

業績表現風險

期貨及期權基金的經理或會徵收業績表現費,若基金的資產淨值達致預先設定的淨增長水平,便須每年向基金經理繳交這項費用。由於業績表現費 通常按日計算,若須繳付,便會從基金的資產淨值中每日扣除,因此投資者要贖回基金單位時,即使他們的投資本金已有所虧損,亦有可能須承擔所贖回單位的業績表現費。

交易對手風險

期貨及期權基金投資於期權或其他場外衍生產品時,將須承受交易對手可能無法履行責任的違約風險,基金或會因而招致虧損。

期權買方的風險僅限於已支付的期權金,期權賣方的損失可能遠遠大於收到的期權金。

購買期權時的潛在收益是無限的,但期權買方的風險僅限於已支付的期權金。期權賣方的利潤僅限於收到的期權金。鑑於賣方必須滿足買方的行使決定,期權賣方的損失可能遠大於收到的期權金。

本產品不受保本。

期權合約可以由買賣雙方在交易所經營的市場中進行買賣,稱為場內期權。

該產品是一種複雜的產品,投資者應謹慎對待複雜產品。

在最壞的情況下(例如發行人的破產),投資者可能得不到任何回報,潛在的最大損失可能是投資額的100%。

如發行人提供的發售文件尚未經證監會審閱; 建議投資者對要約保持謹慎。

證監會的授權並不意味著產品的官方推薦或認可,也不保證產品的商業價值或其表現。

該產品可供專業投資者 / 非專業投資者使用。

以上資料僅作參考之用。以上資訊並非試圖將產品所涉及的風險全部列出。在訂立上述交易前,投資者應諮詢法律顧問、稅務顧問和財務顧問的意見。投資者被視為已自己獨立作出投資決定。投資者不得依賴本公司任何僱員以書面或口頭形式發出的任何資訊作為建議或投資意見。投資者亦須明瞭有關投資價格及其投資之價值可跌可升。

網上平台支援MAC及PC

只要有一台連接互聯網的電腦,即可在全球證券市場尋找投資機會