Futures

Futures are a form of derivative. Its value is determined by the expected price movements of its underlying assets. A futures contract represents a commitment to buy or sell a certain quantity of the underlying asset at a pre-determined price on a specified date.

Investors who are holding a long position are required to purchase the underlying asset on the final settlement date. Similarly, parties who take a short position must sell or deliver the underlying asset in accordance with the terms of the agreement.

Benefits of Futures Trading

Stretch your dollar and get the most out of your capital by leveraging. When trading futures, you only need to invest a fraction of the value of the contract as margin. This allows you to trade much larger contracts than your capital allows.

Most futures markets are highly liquid. This means assets can be bought and sold quickly at relatively stable prices so investors can enter and exit positions when required.

Employ sophisticated hedging strategies by using futures contracts. With the freedom to go long or short, safeguarding your portfolio against unexpected risks has never been easier.

Trade Now with UTRADE Futures

At UTRADE, we are our clients' window to the world of finance. You can trade on local markets or pursue opportunities across 11 international markets from Hong Kong, London to New York.

The market waits for no man. That is why we are always there for you when you conduct your trades, never mind when that may be. Our 24-hour hotline service is manned by professionals around the clock to answer your queries.

We understand that financial markets can be complex. We provide the latest and most effective tools, such as free daily commentary on the most current products, to help you navigate the market efficiently and productively.

  • Anytime, Anywhere
    You can trade futures on our web and mobile platforms, which are available on both iOS and Android. With the right tools to help you trade anytime, anywhere, you will never miss an opportunity again.
  • Safe and Efficient
    Our easy-to-use technology puts up-to-the-second data at your fingertips so you can make quick and efficient decisions in the fast-moving futures market. Our state-of-the-art platform also ensures that your orders are carried out swiftly so you can always be assured that your trades are followed through.
  • Comprehensive Functions
    Investors need all the help they can get to beat the market. We provide free real-time quotations, in-depth chart analyses and detailed market information to help you do just that.
  • Advanced Orders at Your Fingertips
    Our sophisticated and advanced market orders empower you to carry out your trades more efficiently. You can choose from a broad range of order types including Fill/Kill, Good till Cancelled, Good till Date and Auction Order.(1)

(1) Limited to Hong Kong futures.

Product Information Statement

Futures are financial contracts for underlying assets, such as stock, market index, currency or commodity. The underlying assets are bought or sold at an agreed price today, for a set date in the future.

Futures can be traded on the HKEx. You can buy or sell them with a margin deposit, which only partly covers the value of the contract. Going into leverage can increase the size of your gain or loss. Trading futures can be risky as a broker can make a margin call. This means you must put in more cash or securities to cover the shortfall of your margin deposit in case the price of the underlying asset moves against your view. The loss could be much more than your margin deposit.

Underlying Asset

Assets underlying futures contracts can be quite varied. They include stocks, indices, currencies, interest rates, commodities, such as oil, beans and gold. HKEx futures contracts are financial futures mainly based on interest rates, gold, stocks and stock indices such as the HSI, H-shares Index.

Contracted Price

The price at which a futures contract is registered by the clearing house, i.e. the traded price.

Contract Multiplier

The weight that is multiplied by the contracted price when calculating the contracted value. With HSI and H-Shares Index futures, the contract multiplier is $50 per index point, whereas in a mini-HSI futures contract, it is $10 per index point. For HKEx stock futures contracts, this is one board lot of the underlying stock.

Last Trading Day

The last day when a futures contract can be traded on an exchange.

Final Settlement Day

The day when the buyer and the seller must settle the futures contract.

Final Settlement Price

The fixed price determined by the clearing house and used to calculate the futures contract's final settlement value. Multiplying the final settlement price by the contract multiplier gives the final settlement value.

Settlement Method

A futures contract can be settled by cash or by physical delivery of the underlying asset. All futures contracts traded on the HKEx (except for Three-year Exchange Fund Note futures) are settled in cash.

It is available for Professional Investor or Non- Professional Investor.

Basis Risk

The prices of futures contracts/options may not always go in line with/be perfectly correlated to the value of the underlying assets in the spot markets. For example, an increase in the spot price of the underlying asset may not cause the NAV of the futures and options fund to rise by the same magnitude. In fact, the NAV of the futures and options fund may not change at all or may even fall.

Volatility Risk

With substantial investment in futures contracts and options, the funds' prices may be subject to the risk of very volatile price movements of futures contracts and options. Futures contracts/options price movements may be caused by other factors such as changes in government policies, supply and demand, changes in interest rates and economic conditions. Futures contracts'/options' prices are highly volatile, and so are prices of the futures and options funds. Furthermore, many futures and options funds may invest in futures contracts/options with underlying asset classes such as commodities and foreign currencies which are generally more volatile. Besides, some futures exchanges may impose limits on daily futures price movement. In this case, even if a futures and options fund tries to close out its futures position to limit loss, the orders may not be executed due to such limits.

Margin Risk & Liquidity Risk

If the market moves against the futures position, the futures and options funds may be required to pay additional margins, to maintain the trading positions on short notice. The fund may need to liquidate its assets at unfavorable prices in order to meet these margin calls and suffer substantial losses. Some futures and options funds can only be redeemed at limited intervals (e.g. monthly). If you invest in such a fund, you may not be able to cash in on your investment at your desired price or when you are in need of cash.

Leverage Risk

Trading of futures contracts and options may carry a high degree of risk. The amount of initial margin/premium for entering into futures contracts/options is small relative to the value of futures contracts/options so that transactions are leveraged. In this way, a small change in contracts prices may result in magnified profit or loss, depending on the extent of leverage employed by the funds. A futures and options fund may or may not be leveraged. Although a futures and options fund may not invest all of its assets in futures contracts/options, where a futures and options fund is leveraged, the fund may lose all of its assets in its entirety due to the leverage effect of futures contracts/options. You should pay attention to the leverage level of a futures and options fund in which you invest, as well as the attendant risks.

Model Risk

The performance of futures and options fund depends mainly on success of its investment strategy, which is generally model-based. However, the use of model does not guarantee positive performance and any unexpected changes in market could hurt the model's performance. Moreover, it is not guaranteed that the model can be fully executed in an accurate and timely fashion.

Performance Fee Risk

The manager of a futures and options fund may charge a performance fee, which is payable to the manager annually if a pre-determined net appreciation of the fund's NAV is achieved. As the performance fee usually accrues on a daily basis and if payable, is deducted from the fund's net assets value on a daily basis, this gives rise to the risk that an investor redeeming his/her units may still need to bear a performance fee in respect of those units, even though a loss in the investment capital has been suffered by such redeeming investor.

Counterparty Risk

When a futures and options fund invests in options or other derivative instruments that are traded over-the-counter, the fund will be subject to the risk of default of its counterparties in performing any of their obligations. It may result in losses to the fund.

The loss is unlimited.

Whether you buy or sell a futures contract, your potential gain or loss is unlimited.

This product is not principal protected.

Participants may sign up as market makers in some stock futures contracts, in which they would be responsible for providing firm bid/offer prices within a maximum spread limit. Some stock futures contracts may not have market makers to provide bid/offer quotes and their trading would be on an order-driven basis. Investors should be aware of the liquidity risk in these stock futures contracts and should exercise due caution before trading.

The product is a complex product and investors should exercise caution in relation to the product.

In the worst case scenario (e.g. insolvency of issuer), the investor may get nothing back and the potential maximum loss could be 100% of investment amount.

If the offering documents provided by the issuer have not been reviewed by the SFC; investors are advised to exercise caution in relation to the offer.

SFC authorization does not imply official recommendation or endorsement of a product nor does it guarantee the commercial merits of a product or its performance.

The product is available for professional investors / non- professional investors.

The above information is provided for reference only. The information may not contain all material terms, in and of itself should not form the basis for any investment decision. Potential investors must seek their own independent advice in relation to any legal, tax, accounting or regulatory issues relating to the matters discussed herein, By accepting receipt of this information the reader will be deemed to represent that they posses, either individually or through their advisor, sufficient investment expertise to understand the risks involved in any purchase or sale of any investment products, referenced herein, and investor has made its own independent judgment. The value, price or income from investments may fall as well as rise.

The platform supports Mac, PC, tablets or smartphones

You can invest anytime from anywhere and trade Futures on-the-go

期货

期货是一种衍生工具,其价值取决于对相关资产未来的价格变化预期。期货合约代表在指定日期按预定价格买入或卖出一定数量相关资产的承诺。

持有长仓的投资者,须要在最后结算日购买相关资产;持有短仓的一方,则必须根据协定条款卖出或交付相关资产。

期货交易的优点

利用杠杆原理,可以使您的资金发挥更大的购买力。买卖期货时,您只需支付部分合约额,作为保证金。藉此,您可交易的合约规模远远高于您所拥有的资金。

大部分期货市场有极高的流动性。资产可按相对稳定的价格迅速买卖,投资者可以在有需要时入市或平仓。

投资者可利用期货合约来作为精密的对冲策略。您可选择开立长仓或短仓,以抵销对投资组合突如其来的风险。

立刻以UTRADE 期货进行交易

UTRADE平台是客户进入环球金融市场的途径。您可在本地或11个国际市场进行交易,掌握香港、伦敦以至纽约等市场的投资机会。

市场争分夺秒,我们当然要时刻紧守岗位,为您的交易提供支援。我们设有24小时真人接听热线,随时解答您的查询。

我们明白到金融市场的运作相当复杂,因此我们提供最新及最有效的工具,例如有关当前产品的每日免费评论及分析,让您安然渡过种种考验,在市场游刃有馀。

  • 随时随地进行交易
    客户可在本行网上及流动平台进行期货交易,而流动平台适用于iOS及Android系统。只要拥有合适的工具,您便可随时随地进行交易,不会错失任何投资机会。
  • 安全及高效率
    通过先进易用的投资科技,我们可提供即时资料,方便您在瞬息万变的期货市场中,迅速作出有效的交易决定。本行顶尖的交易平台确保买卖指令能够即执行,让您安心进行交易。
  • 功能全面
    若要战胜市场,投资者应要获得一切所需支援。我们提供免费报价、深入的技术图表分析及详细的市场资讯,增加投资胜算。
  • 多元化交易指令尽在掌握
    系统设有多种精密和先进的交易指令,提升交易效率,包括全部成交及 或取消(Fill/Kill)、取消前有效盘(GTC)、到期前有效盘(GTD)及竞价盘(AO)指令。(1)

(1) 只适用于香港期货。

产品资讯

期货是一份金融合约,买卖双方承诺于未来某个指定日期,以预先厘定的价格,买入或沽出某种相关资产,可以是股票、市场指数、货币或商品。

你可以在香港交易所买卖不同相关资产的期货合约。你只需要缴付合约总值的一部分作为按金,就可以买入或沽出期货合约,这种杠杆特点,能够倍大你的回报和亏损。当相关资产价格的走势与你的看法相反时,你可能会因为按金水平下跌,而要面对被经纪行追缴按金(即补仓)的风险,损失有可能超过你所缴付的按金。

相关资产

期货合约可与不同的资产挂钩,包括股票、指数、货币、利率,以及石油、豆类与黄金等商品。在香港交易所买卖的期货为利率、黄金、股票和股票指数(例如恒生指数,H股指数)合约。

立约成价

结算所就期货合约所登记的价格,即合约的交易价。

合约乘数

与立约成价相乘即计算出合约价值。现时,恒生指数及H股指数期货合约的合约乘数每指数点$50,而小型恒生指数期货合约则为每指数点$10。至于在香港交易所买卖的股票期货合约,则相等于相关股份的一手股数。

最后交易日

期货合约可在交易所买卖的最后日期。

最后结算日

买卖双方必须就期货合约进行交收的日期。

最后结算价

由结算所决定,用作计算期货合约最终结算价值的价格。把最后结算价乘以合约乘数,即可计算出合约的最终结算价值。

结算方法

期货合约可以用现金或相关资产作实物交收。除了三年期的外汇基金债券期货外,所有在香港交易所买卖的期货合约均以现金结算。

该产品适用于专业投资者 / 非专业投资者客户。

基本风险

期货合约或期权的价格变动未必与现货市场相关资产的价值变动一致或完全相符,例如相关资产的现货价格上升,未必令期货及期权基金的资产净值以相同幅度上升。事实上,期货及期权基金的资产净值可能维持不变,甚至可能下跌。

大幅波动的风险

由于期货及期权基金大笔投资于期货合约及期权,基金价格或会受制于相当波动的期货合约及期权价格。期货合约或期权的价格波动或会由其他因素所带动,例如政府政策、供求、利率变动及当前经济环境。期货合约或期权的价格相 当波动,因此期货及期权基金的价格也非常波动。此外,很多期货及期权基金的投资对象,或会是以价格一般较为波动的资产类别(如商品及外币等)为相关资产的期货合约或期权。了解更多有关商品基金的特点和风险。

此外,部分期货交易所可能就期货价格的每日变幅设有限制。在此情况下,即使期货及期权基金尝试平仓止蚀,但有关限制也可能令指示无法执行。

保证金风险和流通性风险

假如市场走势对期货持仓不利,期货及期权基金或须为维持手上的持仓,在短时间内支付额外按金。期货及期权基金或须为支付所需按金,以不利的价格变现资产,因而招致巨额亏损。

有些期货及期权基金只能在指定时间内赎回(如每月)。若投资于这类基金,你未必能按期望的价格或在需要资金周转时,将投资变现。

杠杆借贷风险

买卖期货合约及期权可涉及相当高的风险。相对于期货合约或期权本身的价值,订立期货合约或期权所需的基本按金或期权金的金额较少,因此有 关期货合约或期权的交易本身属杠杆式交易。就此而言,合约价格若有轻微变动,也会引致盈利或亏损倍大,倍大程度视乎有关基金所使用的杠杆程度。期货及期权基金未必一定设有杠杆。虽然期货及期权基金未必会将所有资产投资于已设立杠杆的期货合约或期权,但期货合约或期权的杠杆作用仍可能使有关基金损失所有资产。因此投资者应留意所投资期货及期权基金的杠杆水平及相关的风险。

投资模型风险

期货及期权基金的表现主要取决于投资策略的成败,而有关策略一般以基金所采用的投资模型作为基础。然而,运用投资模型并不保证基金会有良好业绩,而市况突变亦可能会损害投资模型的表现。此外,有关基金亦不能保证可准确且及时地全面执行所订立的投资策略。

业绩表现风险

期货及期权基金的经理或会征收业绩表现费,若基金的资产净值达致预先设定的净增长水平,便须每年向基金经理缴交这项费用。由于业绩表现费 通常按日计算,若须缴付,便会从基金的资产净值中每日扣除,因此投资者要赎回基金单位时,即使他们的投资本金已有所亏损,亦有可能须承担所赎回单位的业绩表现费。

交易对手风险

期货及期权基金投资于期权或其他场外衍生产品时,将须承受交易对手可能无法履行责任的违约风险,基金或会因而招致亏损。

损失是无限的。

该产品没有潜在收益的上限。

本产品不受保本。

市场参与者或于个别股票期货注册成为市场庄家,并在指定的最大差价范围内同时提供买入价和卖出价。交易所参与者及其客户须注意个别股票期货可能没有市场庄家登记提供买卖差价而其买卖将以市场买卖单位为基础。投资者应留意买卖没有市场庄家登记的股票期货可能涉及流通性风险,入市前应谨慎考虑。

该产品是一种复杂的产品,投资者应谨慎对待产品。

在最坏的情况下(例如发行人的破产),投资者可能得不到任何回报,潜在的最大损失可能是投资额的100%。

如发行人提供的发售文件尚未经证监会审阅; 建议投资者对要约保持谨慎。

证监会的授权并不意味着产品的官方推荐或认可,也不保证产品的商业价值或其表现。

该产品可供专业投资者 / 非专业投资者使用。

以上资料仅作参考之用。以上资讯并非试图将产品所涉及的风险全部列出。在订立上述交易前,投资者应谘询法律顾问、税务顾问和财务顾问的意见。投资者被视为已自己独立作出投资决定。投资者不得依赖本公司任何雇员以书面或口头形式发出的任何资讯作为建议或投资意见。投资者亦须明了有关投资价格及其投资之价值可跌可升。

平台技援MAC、PC、平板电脑及智能电话

让您随时随地进行投资及期货买卖